Wasabi Pea-Crusted Salmon

I feel like the name is pretty self-explanatory but I’m serious when I tell you people have told me “this is the only salmon they’ll eat” or “this made them like salmon” or as my kids now say, “make me the good salmon, Mom!” (hopefully followed by a “please” on a good day).

This dish is a variation of one of the original dishes at The Stanton Social created by my former boss, Chris Santos. His recipe is available through his cookbook, SHARE, which we wrote together. My version has 3 ingredients and while it looks kinda fancy, I promise it is beyond simple to make.

I usually make about 2 lbs. of salmon. I slice the large (boneless/skinless) salmon steak into about 2-inch thick filets. I place the salmon in a mixing bowl and top with 1/2 cup of soy sauce. After mixing the salmon, I like to let it sit for about an hour, mixing occasionally. If you don’t have time for this step, I’ve also made the dish without letting the salmon marinate at all and it’s not a huge difference. The key ingredient here is Wasabi Peas – one of my favorite snacks on the planet. (If you’re thinking wasabi peas and children don’t mix – the spice, for whatever reason, doesn’t resonate after they have been cooked). Take 1 cup of wasabi peas and pulse in a food processor until you have a gritty mixture.

Lay your salmon steaks on a flat surface. Season with salt and pepper and then COMPLETELY COVER the top surface of each salmon steak with the crushed wasabi peas. After I cover each filet, I like to use a paper towel and press down firmly to further help the peas stick to the fish. In a sauce pan, heat about 2 tB. olive oil (or grapeseed oil or whatever you prefer) over medium-high heat. Sear the salmon – pea side down! – for about 90 seconds. Flip the salmon and then continue cooking until your desired temperate (90 more seconds for RARE-ish, 3 minutes if you like your salmon more well-done).

That’s all she wrote. Super simple. Let me know if you’ve converted any non-salmon eaters. If you have – tell them The Gluttoness sent you. If you don’t – well, maybe yours didn’t turn out so good 🙂

Leave a comment