Pistachio Gremolata

What a gorgeous green bowl of goodness! I had a beautiful piece of fresh striped bass from Out of the Blue and wanted to give it a little more love than simply grilling it. The kids were snacking on pistachios so I had another one of my AH HA! moments – gremolata! But to keep the green theme alive, I swapped the traditional use of lime for lemon

SHOPPING LIST: salted pistachios, chopped garlic, 2 limes, olive oil, salt, pepper

I like to do this by hand even though YOU COULD just pulse everything in a food processor – BUT if you over pulse this the texture will be like a pesto and this is NOT that. You’ll need 3/4 cup of de-shelled salted pistachios, 2 tB of chopped garlic, the zest and juice of 2 limes and 3 tB. of olive oil. I chopped the pistachios, garlic and lime zest together, then mixed in the lime juice and olive oil and seasoned to taste with salt and pepper.

As mentioned, I served mine with/on top a fresh filet of grilled striped bass:

I seasoned the Striped Bass with this amazing Nature’s Promise Mango Habanero Seasoning that I am totally obsessed and highly recommend and then grilled it until the flesh just started to peel apart in the center. When the striped bass was finished, I gave it an extra squeeze of fresh lime on top before topping it with the gremolata. The gremolata was the perfect addition and COMPLIMENT to the spiced, grilled fish. The nuttiness of the pistachios gave each bite of tender bass more substance and the fresh lime only enhanced the subtle mango flavors from my new favorite spice blend.

Leave a comment